The League of Composers Presented by New World Symphony


The League of Composers Presented by New World Symphony

Violinist Daniel Ching, founder of the Miró Quartet, joins the Fellows for music by a worldly gang of composer friends who, despite distance and origins, frequently shared artistic ideas.

Aaron Copland, father of the American Sound, offers a tourist’s impression of a vivacious Cuba in his Danzón cubano, arranged here for percussion ensemble.

Dmitri Shostakovich discards his signature darkness for the lively waltzes, polkas and gypsy dances adapted from his theatrical works.

Argentinian Alberto Ginastera’s String Quartet pounds with frenetic force, while Mexican Carlos Chávez’ Upingos is a brief, haunting soliloquy for solo oboe. Like a conversation between old friends, the cello and piano have sweeping, intense dialogues in Benjamin Britten’s Sonata.

Daniel Ching, violin


Britten : Cello Sonata
Shostakovich : Five Pieces for Two Violins and Piano
Chávez : Upingos
Ginastera : String Quartet No. 1
Copland : Danzon cubano