Emanuel Ax Plays Beethoven Presented by New World Symphony


Emanuel Ax Plays Beethoven Presented by New World Symphony

In this one-night exclusive evening at the Adrienne Arsht Center, superstar pianist Emanuel Ax teams up with MTT for another knock-out, this time featuring a dazzling performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto, a youthful work full of surprise, spontaneity and humor.

Jean Sibelius’ life-affirming Fifth Symphony features unbridled orchestral euphoria and one of the most beloved finales of all time, while, with trembling strings and surging chromaticism, Richard Wagner captures the tumultuous seas in his adventurous Overture.

This concert is sponsored in part by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.

Richard Wagner
Approx. Duration: 11 minutes
Overture to The Flying Dutchman (1841)
Mr. Whiteside

Ludwig van Beethoven
Approx. Duration: 37 minutes
Concerto No. 1 in C major for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 15 (1795; revised 1800)
Allegro con brio
Rondo: Allegro scherzando

Mr. Ax


Jean Sibelius
Approx. Duration: 31 minutes
Symphony No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 82 (1915-19)
Tempo molto moderato – Allegro moderato – Presto
Andante mosso, quasi allegretto
Allegro molto – Misterioso

Hear a preview of the music https://www.nws.edu/events-tickets/concerts/emanuel-ax-plays-beethoven/#/program