Chamber Music for Virtuosi Presented by New World Symphony


Chamber Music for Virtuosi Presented by New World Symphony

For the first chamber music concert of NWS’s 30th Anniversary Season, welcome the return of three distinguished alumni who are making a difference in orchestras around the country. Witness a lighter side of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky with his luminous Souvenir de Florence, featuring Hartford Symphony Concertmaster Leonid Sigal (NWS 1995-97). Brook Ferguson, Principal Flute of the Colorado Symphony (NWS, 2007-10) performs John Rutter’s Suite Antique, a lighthearted homage to Bach with a modern twist. Inspired by Samuel Barber’s famous Adagio and lush white sand beaches, Joan Tower’s Island Prelude has Kevin Pearl, Assistant Principal Oboe of the Milwaukee Symphony (NWS, 2012-15), mimicking the whimsical flight patterns of a tropical bird. Generations of NWS Fellows—current and former—join forces in this musical homecoming.

Brook Ferguson, flute

Kevin Pearl, oboe

Leonid Sigal, violin


Rutter : Suite Antique

Tower : Island Prelude

Tchaikovsky : Souvenir de Florence